Rostov takes one of the most important places in the Golden Ring of Russia. In spite of its old age – over 1000 years, this city remains interesting for the tourists thanks to its rich history and unique monuments of architectural and cultural heritage.Read more
One of the oldest and the most beautiful Russian cities on the Volga river - Yaroslavl celebrates its millennium in 2010. The opinions of historians about the date of its foundation are different, but 1010 is considered to be the most correct. The city always played an important part in the history of Russia.Read more
It had been known until quite recently under the name of Zagorsk. Sergiev Posad enters the number of towns, which enters the so called Golden Ring of Russia. It attracts many tourists because this is one of a few Russian cities full of ancient monuments.Read more
Suzdal is a tourist centre of the Golden Ring of Russia. It is hard to enumerate all sights of the city. A lot of historical monuments, five monasteries and several dozens of churches and cathedrals that remained until now make Suzdal the city reserve, which keeps its ancient topography with care and inexpressible coloring of Russian architecture. There are no industrial enterprises in the city, the construction of tall buildings is forbidden. The unique skills of Russian architects, who created a lot of monuments and buildings for us, are shown in all beauty this way.
Suzdal is located on the picturesque bank of the Kamenka river. The trade route of ancient Russia passed here before. When Yury Dolgorukiy ruled, the city was granted with the capital status. It became the capital of Vladimir-Suzdal Princedom and Moscow was one of its fortresses, needed for the protection of the princedom. The exact date of foundation is not known, but the first mention of the city was in 1024. According to the historical data, the construction of the Kremlin in the mouth of the Kamenka river started in the 11th-12th century. The Kremlin was surrounded by dirt walls with watch towers. On the order of Vladimir Monomakh the Dormition of the Mother of God Cathedral was erected in the centre of Suzdal Kremlin. This is one of the most ancient architectural monuments in Russia.
The most successful time for Suzdal development was the first half of the 12th century. The merchants’ layer grew, and eastern trade routes developed. New workshops and trade shops appeared, which formed an independent suburb – Posad or a trading quarter. Yury Dolgoruky (that means “long hands”) was called this way because of his constant wish to conquer other lands, built the fortress not far from the city with the goal of protection – Kideksha. Church of Boris and Gleb was built on its territory in 1152. It was called so after his ancestors who were canonized. It was the first sample of white stone architecture on the north-east of Russia. The traditions of church construction were followed by other rulers of Suzdal too.
The following years became tragic in the history of this ancient Russian city. In 1238 it was conquered by Tatars and only small part of all citizens was able to hide behind the walls of the Monastery of Deposition of the Robe. The city was fired and plundered, the population was enslaved and taken away to the Horde. Those who remained alive built the city anew in the course of 15 years. Big attention at this is paid to the construction of churches and monasteries. This way the Aleksandrovsky monastery appeared on the bank of the Kamenka river, and then in the eastern part of the city Vasilievsky monastery, and not far from the Monastery of Deposition of the Robe – Trinity monastery. Though the political influence of Suzdal became weaker with each year, the religious influence grew. The city becomes the center of episcopacy and from 1507 after the remains of St Evfimy became public, it became the centre of religious pilgrims. The Orthodox came from the whole Russia, the monasteries became richer and the construction of stone buildings for different purposes started in Suzdal. For instance, the Convent of the Intercession of the Mother of God was used as a prison for women from tsar or boyar family out of favor. They were brought for death penalty to Suzdal.
The 17th century brought many troubles to the city. From 1608 it was under the pressure of Polish-Lithuanian invaders and from 1611 it became free due to Minin and Pozharsky troops. In 1634 it was plundered by Tatars and 9 years later a big fire took place in Suzdal. Buildings, which remained after military attacks, were burnt then. To make the matters worse, plaque of the second half of the 17th century killed the half of the city population. Those who survived erected the clock-tower to remember this event, which was later changed by Holy Cross Nikolsky Church of stone. When Peter I comes to power the influence of monasteries and churches becomes considerably weaker, but Suzdal remains the mighty religious centre. The stream of pilgrims does not cease and this lets the authorities of the city continue construction of stone churches and bell towers. In 1707 the Jerusalem Entrance church and Tsar-Constantine church are built, a little later Resurrection church, John the Baptist and the Church of Consolation of all the Afflicted are built. In 1772 Pyatnitskaya church is built.
Now Suzdal is a big tourist centre and is a part of Vladimir-Suzdal Museum Reserve. Many buildings entered UNESCO World Heritage list as monuments of ancient Russia. There are a lot of interesting expositions and museums telling about the history of Suzdal and life of its citizens.
The house of a peasant of average means. This is a typical for that time house of the 19th century. The interior of that time is recreated there and the details of daily life are reconstituted. The yard has a complex of household buildings. The house of merchant Likhonin is created on the same principle and presents the merchant house, built in the 18th century.
The museum of wooden architecture and peasant daily life. It was built based on the buildings of 17-19th centuries brought from different places of Suzdal and Vladimir regions to the bank of the Kamenka river. The items of the daily village life and articles used then are preserved in them.
Though the city was destroyed many times throughout the history and suffered from fires, it was restored and keeps its historical and cultural roots. Yury Dolgoruky, Vladimir Monomakh, Aleksandr Nevsky, and Dmitry Pozharsky – many famous people were this or that way connected with Suzdal land. There are all conditions for interesting rest in the city now: wonderful nature, museums and monuments, comfortable hotels - Suzdal is ready to meet its guests in accordance with traditions of Russian hospitality.